Regent I and Pointe North have different admissions and continued occupancy standards from traditional public housing. In order to live at these properties, you must be working, going to school/job training or a combination of both, unless you are elderly, disabled or handicapped.
Unless the adults age 19 or over in a household are exempt, all adult members in the household must meet the following criteria to remain in the public housing units at Regent I or Pointe North.
An adult member of the household is exempt from the following criteria if:
- The adult is 62 years of age or older, or
- The adult is blind or disabled (as defined under section 216(I)(I) or 1614 of the Social Security Act) and is are unable to comply with this section, or
- The adult is the primary caretaker of a disabled individual, or
- The adult meets the requirements for being exempted from having to engage in a “work activity” under the relevant Texas program funded under Part A of title IV of the Social Security Act or under any other Texas welfare program, or
- The adult is a family member of a family receiving assistance, benefits or services under a Texas program funded under Part A of title IV of the Social Security Act or under any other Texas welfare program.
- Employment, full-time school. Prior to signing the lease, all adult members of household must provide proof that they are either (a) employed for 30 or more hours per week, (b) enrolled full-time in an accredited school (as determined by the school). (c) enrolled in a BHA approved vocational or job training program. Those who are enrolled in school a job training program must provide proof of enrollment within the first week of each semester as well as a transcript showing completion of the courses at the end of each semester.
- Non-compliance. Each non-exempt adult in the household may only be out of compliance with the work/education requirement for up to 60 cumulative days per year per person. Upon loss of job or reduction of hours to below 30 hours per week or failure to attend courses, the non-exempt adult agrees to notify the Compliance Department of loss or reduction of employment within 10 days. The tenant will be referred to the Resident Opportunities for Self Sufficiency (ROSS) Coordinator, who will start the 60-day clock. The case manager will maintain the annual 60-day clock, and the property manager will proceed with the consequences for non-compliance.
- Consequences for non-compliance. If any non-exempt adult within the household is out of compliance for more than 60 cumulative days in any one-year period, Compliance will transfer the household to a non-work requirement public housing site (Tracewood I, Tracewood II, Grandpine Courts). If the household refuses the offered transfer unit, Compliance will then initiate the eviction process.